Monday, June 27, 2005

House Votes to Repeal First Amendment

----[UPDATE]-Falsely accused several on the list of being repeat offenders while leaving out many others. List is more accurate now. Based on Atrios' list of 31 Losers.----

Well, they might as well. On Wednesday the House voted 286-130 in favor of a Constitutional Amendment to allow Congress to ban desecration of the flag. This kind of "freedom when we find it acceptable" approach to the bill of rights is truly dangerous and the path towards the total anhilation of our First Amendment right to free speech.

So, I ask myself, who are these Democrats voting in favor of this crap? Who is so gutless that they can't stand up and vote in defense of disagreeable free speech? Looking at the Congressional Record there were 77 of them. Every one of these fools deserves opposition in the primaries. Those in bold have been notorious repeat offenders for voting the Republican Party line. Twenty-Two of these fools are Blue Dogs.
Robert Andrews (NJ-1)
Joe Baca (CA-43)
Brian Baird (WA-3)
John Barrow (GA-12)
Mellissa Bean (IL-8)
Shelley Berkeley (NV-1)
Marion Berry (AR-1)
Sanford Bishop (GA-2)
Timothy Bishop (NY-1)
Dan Boren (OK-2)
Leonard Boswell (IA-3)
Sherrod Brown (OH-13)
Corrine Brown (FL-3)
Lois Capps (CA-23)
Russ Carnahan (MO-3)
Dennis Cardoza (CA-18)
Ben Chandler (KY-6)
James Clybern (SC-6)
Jim Costa (CA-20)
Jerry Costello (IL-12)
Bud Cramer (AL-5)
Joseph Crowley (NY-7)
Henry Cuellar (TX-28)
Jim Davis (FL-11)
Lincoln Davis (TN-4)
William Delahunt (MA-10)
Mike Doyle (PA-14)
Chet Edwards (TX-17)
Bob Etheridge (NC-2)
Harold Ford (TN-9)
Bart Gordon (TN-6)
Gene Green (TX-29)
Jane Harman (CA-36)
Brian Higgins (NY-27)
Tim Holden (PA-17)
William Jefferson (LA-2)
Paul Kanjorski (PA-11)
Marci Kaptur (OH-9)
Dale Kildee (MI-5)
Jim Langevin (RI-2)
Tom Lantos (CA-12)
John Larson (CT-1)
Daniel Lipinski (IL-3)
Steven Lynch (MA-9)
Jim Marshall (GA-3)
Carolyn McCarthy (NY-4)
James McGovern (MA-3)
Mike Mcintyre (NC-7)
Michael McNulty (NY-21)
Charlie Melancon (LA-3)
Bob Menendez (NJ-13)
Michael Michaud (ME-2)
Allen Mollohan (WV-1)
John Murtha (PA-12)
Richard Neal (MA-2)
Soloman Ortiz (TX-27)
Frank Pollone (NJ-6)
Bill Pascrell (NJ-8)
Collin Peterson (MN-7)
Nick Rahall (WV-3)
Silvestre Reyes (TX-16)
Mike Ross (AR-4)
Steven Rothman (NJ-9)
Dutch Ruppersberger (MD-2)
John Salazar (CO-3)
Loretta Sanchez (CA-47)
David Scott (GA-13)
Brad Sherman (CA-27)
Ike Skelton (MO-4)
Adam Smith (WA-9)
John Spratt (SC-5)
Ted Strickland (OH-6)
Bart Stupak (MI-1)
Gene Taylor (MS-4)
Bennie Thomson (MS-2)
Edolphus Towns (NY-10)
Albert Wynn (MD-4)

By the way, has there been some increase in flag burnings lately? Why is this a problem we should care about solving?


Anonymous said...

Ok I agree with you on the fact that we don't need a amendment on flag burning but I think its over the top that your saying that if it passes it will be repealing the 1st Amendment (I also read this on Daily Kos). I think it is a bad ideas to try and cause trouble for the Democrats who supported this amendment, it could cause more Republicans to win seats in the Hosue, which is not what we need. Another disturbing trend that I have noticed is that is a grwoing grudge between moderate democrats and liberal democrats. Until this grudge is fixed we can count on Republican victories till the end of time.

Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.